Tehama County

Tehama County Board of Supervisors Chambers 727 Oak Street, Red Bluff, CA 96080 https://tehamacounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 11, 2024 8:30 AM

Board Chambers

Groundwater Commission

8:30 AM

Commissioners: Martin Spannaus, City of Corning; Clay Parker, City of Red Bluff; Hal Crain, City of Tehama; Kris Lamkin, El Camino Irrigation District; Todd Hamer, Los Molinos Community Services District; Martha Slack, Rio Alto Water District;

Bart Fleharty District 1; Andrew Grady, District 2; Seth Lawrence, District 3; Michael Ward, District 4; David Lester, District 5

Jim Simon, Executive Director; Justin Jenson, Flood Control/Water Resources

Manager

The County of Tehama does not discriminate on the basis of disability in admission to, access to, or operation of its buildings, facilities, programs, services, or activities. Questions, complaints, or requests for additional information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) may be forwarded to the County's ADA Coordinator: Tom Provine, County of Tehama, 727 Oak St., Red Bluff, CA 96080, Phone: (530) 527-4655. Individuals with disabilities who need auxiliary aids and/or services or other accommodations for effective communication in the County's programs and services are invited to make their needs and preferences known to the affected department or the ADA Coordinator. For aids or services needed for effective communication during Groundwater Sustainability Agency Groundwater Commission meetings, please contact the ADA Coordinator prior to the day of the meeting. This notice is available in accessible alternate formats from the affected department or the ADA Coordinator.

This meeting conforms to the Brown Act Open Meeting Requirements, in that actions and deliberations of the Groundwater Commission, created to conduct the people's business are taken openly; and that the people remain fully informed about the conduct of its business. Any written materials related to an open session item on this agenda that are submitted to the Clerk less than 72 hours prior to this meeting, and that are not exempt from disclosure under the Public Records Act, will promptly be made available for public inspection at Tehama County Flood Control and Water Conservation District, 1509 Schwab Street, Red Bluff, CA 96080 during normal business hours.

1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Introductions

Present

Commissioner Todd Hamer, Commissioner Martha Slack,
Commissioner Kris Lamkin, Commissioner Michael Ward,
Commissioner David Lester, Commissioner Seth Lawrence,
Commissioner Andrew Grady, Commissioner Bart Fleharty,
Commissioner Hal Crain, and Commissioner Martin Spannaus
Commissioner Clay Parker

2. Public Comment

This time is set aside for citizens to address this Board on any item of interest to the public that is within the subject matter jurisdiction of this Board provided the matter is not on the agenda or pending before this Board. Each agenda item will have an opportunity for public comment at the time the item is called. Persons wishing to provide public comment are asked to address the Board from the podium. The Chair reserves the right to limit each speaker to three (3) minutes. Disclosure of the speaker's identity is purely voluntary during the public comment period.

For audio and real-time commenting via phone:

(530) 212-8376, conference code 142001. Press 5* on your phone keypad to raise your hand to comment.

For live audio of the meeting:

Go to: https://tehamacounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx Public comment provided by Commission Members.

3. Updates For Demand Management and Well Mitigation Ad-Hocs

Informational Update

Meeting went into Recess due to technical difficulties.

Meeting Reconvened

Public Comment

Public Comment Re-opened due to technical difficulties.

4. Appeal Request for Groundwater Sustainability Agency Regulations Governing New and Replacement Wells

Upon Review of E-log and applicant desire to replace a well "in-kind" determine if an exemption is warranted. Staff recommendation is if a well is of the same diameter and depth along with a permitted destruction of the existing well, that is the requirement for determination of replacement "in-kind".

Martha steps out of the board room at 9:37 AM.

Martha returned to the board room at 9:39 AM.

The Applicant was sworn in at 10:03 AM

RESULT: APPROVED David Lester SECONDER: Martha Slack

AYES: Commissioner Hamer, Commissioner Slack, Commissioner Lamkin,

Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Lester, Commissioner Lawrence, Commissioner Grady, Commissioner Fleharty,

Commissioner Crain, and Commissioner Spannaus

ABSENT: Commissioner Parker

5. Review Resolution 8-2024

Give guidance to staff regarding how to proceed.

Martin has left the meeting at 10:53 AM.

Jim Simon has left the meeting at 11:03 AM

Jim Simon has returned to the meeting at 11:03 AM.

6. Commission Matters

A motion to cancel the next upcoming regular meeting of the Groundwater Commission,

APPROVED

RESULT: APPROVED MOVER: Michael Ward SECONDER: Todd Hamer

AYES: Commissioner Slack, Commissioner Lamkin, Commissioner Ward,

Commissioner Lester, Commissioner Lawrence, Commissioner

Grady, Commissioner Crain, and Commissioner Hamer

ABSENT: Commissioner Fleharty, Commissioner Parker, and Commissioner

Spannaus

Adjourn

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 11:19 AM.